Lake Erie and Ohio Fishing Reports
Lake Erie and Ohio Fishing Reports
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 All Forums
 General Discussion
 Info? Drop it here.
 Strange website question
 New Topic  New Poll New Poll
 Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Lured2000
Super Fisherman


39 Posts

Posted - 11/21/2007 :  21:25:52  Show Profile Send Lured2000 a Private Message  Reply with Quote
Was doin some surfing around on the net today looking into the name issue with the club and everything and one thing led to another when I was doing some google searches and started searching for some websites for some of the lures we all commonly use. Anyways ended up at michiganstingerspoons.com and it has Daves name on it and at the bottom so I assume he owns the site. Does that mean Dave owns michigan stinger spoons or what? If not why would he have that address? also when i click on where it says to go to official website it just keepbringing that page up so it must be the official page? I am confused by all this. Sure there is a simple answer could someone tell me what it is?

Thanks,

Andy

Bischoff66
Master Fisherman



233 Posts

Posted - 11/22/2007 :  00:44:34  Show Profile Send Bischoff66 a Private Message  Reply with Quote
Not sure if this is the right answer but if you yahoooooo!!! michigan stinger spoons and go to that site it does not have Dave's bait on it but by clicking the link on dave's site it does. I can only assume since dave is a seller of the spoons that the link shows the name of the tackle shop you linked from. So if it was let just say BigKevBaitandTackle it would have his name at the bottom.
Go to Top of Page

Bob Why
Professional Fisherman



USA
404 Posts

Posted - 11/22/2007 :  06:41:49  Show Profile Send Bob Why a Private Message  Reply with Quote
When you use a search engine it gives you all references to the search you are doing. Go to http://www.michiganstingerspoons.com/ this is the official web site.

Bob Y. President North Coast Anglers, SFC, US Army Retired . www.northcoastanglers.com
http://northcoastanglers.forumco.com/
Go to Top of Page

crosseyes
Superior Fisherman



USA
119 Posts

Posted - 11/22/2007 :  06:59:59  Show Profile Send crosseyes a Private Message  Reply with Quote
this is the offical page for michigan stinger.
http://www.mistinger.com/
Go to Top of Page

BigKev
Moderator



USA
1537 Posts

Posted - 11/22/2007 :  10:19:02  Show Profile  Visit BigKev's Homepage Send BigKev a Private Message  Reply with Quote
Here is the correct answer. LOL. Dave purchased this name for the website(and obtained permission from stinger spoons as long as he linked it to mistinger.com) to sell spoons via the internet. Its a marketing strategy used by many people that sell on the internet. Its like buying the name NorthCoastAnglers.com. Nothing illegal just a clever way to get people to look at your site. So YES Dave does own MichiganStingerSpoons.com website.

Go Bucks!!!
Go to Top of Page

Lured2000
Super Fisherman



39 Posts

Posted - 11/22/2007 :  13:42:23  Show Profile Send Lured2000 a Private Message  Reply with Quote
Thanks for the replies. Iknew someone on here would know what the story was. Still not sure I understand as it seems like a bait and switch type deal since when you go to michiganstingerspoons.com and then click on the link to go to the official page it just brings that page back up giving the impression that you are on the official home page. Seems really odd to me but I am no computer/internet marketing wizard. Never questioned legality but since it was mentioned by BK i would throw out there that there is a difference between whats legal and whats ethical somtimes.

Thanks again for the quick replies.

On a different note it looks like the weather is going to let us get out again here shortly.

Have a good one.

Andy
Go to Top of Page

BigKev
Moderator



USA
1537 Posts

Posted - 11/23/2007 :  22:53:49  Show Profile  Visit BigKev's Homepage Send BigKev a Private Message  Reply with Quote
Isn't capitalism great. Everyone in America is guilty of it Andy. Can't blame the Baitman for it. Besides its all good with Michigan Stinger so I believe it is very ethical. He obtained their permission even though it wasn't needed. Sound stand up to me. And yes the weather is gonna let us get out for a few more days here in Nov. Can't wait to get out. And while I'm venting, if anyone is out at night trolling be sure to keep your eyes open and pay attention. Almost lost two boards the other night cause someone couldn't veer to the north a little bit while we were making our turn. 390 square miles of lake and this guy had to keep that exact line he was following. Very curtious. Well now that I'm done venting have fun out there and catch some freakin pigs baby!!!!!

Go Bucks!!!
Go to Top of Page

baitdave
Forum Admin



USA
1526 Posts

Posted - 11/24/2007 :  08:12:00  Show Profile  Visit baitdave's Homepage Send baitdave a Private Message  Reply with Quote
Andy,
I did have that set up to go to Stinger's website. This needs to be fixed. I don't want folks confused.
Thank you,
Dave

Pass The Fun Of Fishing On!
Go to Top of Page

Lured2000
Super Fisherman



39 Posts

Posted - 11/24/2007 :  18:57:06  Show Profile Send Lured2000 a Private Message  Reply with Quote
Hey no problem. That makes mroe sense to me now that you said that.

Hope everyone had a good thanksgiving.

Andy
Go to Top of Page
  Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
 New Topic  New Poll New Poll
 Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
Lake Erie and Ohio Fishing Reports © 2000-07 ForumCo.com Go To Top Of Page
This page was generated in 0.25 seconds. Snitz Forums 2000
RSS Feed 1 RSS Feed 2
Powered by ForumCo 2000-2008
TOS - AUP - URA